Photography Prize 2013 to be awarded at Nordic Light

Nordic Light is proud of being given the honour - for the second time - of hosting the Photography Prize Award next week.

Photography Prize Award 2011. Photo: Odd Inge Teige

  • Time: Wednesday April 24, at 18.00 (before the lecture of Marcel Leliënhof)
  • VENUE: Caroline Cinema, Kristiansund
  • HEAD OF THE JURY: Erik Fuglseth

The Norwegian Association of Professional Photographers (NFF) established Photography Prize (Fotografiprisen) in 1989. The prize is awarded every other year.

The Photography Prize, with a purse of NOK 100 000, is awarded to photographers who have distinguished themselves in a professional and creative capacity. It is the most prestigious photography prize in Norway, and can be compared with Norwegian literary award, The Brage Prize. The winner has to demonstrate a combination of professionalism and creativity as well as a personal commitment to photography.

This is an important event for the photographic community in Norway, and the second year the ceremony will take place with due dignity at the Nordic Light International Festival of Photography in Kristiansund. The Award winner will also be giving a lecture on Thursday April 25, at 10.30-11.30 in Caroline Cinema.

Previous prize winners are Morten Krogvold (1989), Knut Bry (1994), Dag Alveng (1997), Kjell Sten Tollefsen (1999), Agnete Brun (2001), Herdis Maria Siegert (2003), Tom Sandberg (2005), Per Maning (2007) and Jonas Bendiksen (2009) and Rune Johansen (2011).